Colorado seat belt laws exist to keep drivers safe and secure. Each state has its own laws related to seat belt usage, so it’s smart to be familiar with how the rules apply in your home state. The question of whether an injured person was wearing a seat belt during an accident might come up in a personal injury case, although it may or may not have an effect on the case.
A large majority of Americans are in favor of seat belt laws. The logic behind these laws is that they save taxpayers from bearing the cost of healthcare incurred by drivers who receive serious injuries in crashes. Medical care for car wreck victims can run into the thousands, only some of which is covered by insurance. Because seat belts reduce the risk of serious injury, they are thought to be a benefit to more than just the driver of the vehicle.
Also, studies show that children who ride with adults who don’t use seat belts are often not buckled in themselves. This is a serious danger to kids and also teaches them poor safety habits for the future.
Colorado Seat Belt Laws
There are 2 types of seat belt laws: primary and secondary. When a state has primary seat belt laws, law enforcement can issue a ticket to a driver for a seat belt offense, even if the driver has committed no other traffic infraction. With secondary seat belt laws, the driver can only be ticketed for a seat belt offense if he or she has committed another traffic offense . Colorado has secondary seat belt laws.
All restraints must meet Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards ( FMVSS) and this includes:
- car seats;
- other child restraints;
- shoulder belts and
- lap belts.
Infants are required to ride in rear-facing car seats until they are 1 year of age or reach 20 pounds. When they are between 20 and 40 pounds and up to 4 years old, they can ride in forward-facing car seats. They can graduate to a booster seat at the age of 4 and to a regular seat belt at age 6, or when they reach 55 inches in height. Be sure to check into the laws pertaining to infant and child restraints so that you have the latest information. The minimum fine for violating seat belt laws is $18.
Contacting a Colorado Personal Injury Attorney
If you have questions about filing a personal injury claim following a traffic accident, you should have an experienced legal team to answer your questions and guide you through the process. First, read our free eBook, 7 Costly Mistakes that can Ruin your Colorado Injury Case. The attorneys at the D.J. Banovitz law firm are here to help you during this difficult time. Call for a free initial consultation today. 303-300-5060.