A Denver auto accident lawyer can tell you that according to Colorado car insurance laws, drivers must carry insurance. Unfortunately, that doesn’t mean all do, which could put you at risk if you sustain serious injuries.
Insurance can provide coverage for your losses when you are injured in an auto accident. However, the other driver may not have any coverage or it may not be adequate, leaving you with a financial burden. Talking to a lawyer can help you learn what legal options might be available if someone else was at fault for your accident injuries.
Colorado Car Insurance Laws
By law, drivers must carry liability insurance. This helps cover property damage and bodily injuries to others.
The minimum amounts that must be purchased for liability insurance are:
- $15,000 per accident – property damage;
- $25,000 per person – bodily injury; and
- $50,000 per accident – bodily injury.
Other types of coverage, such as uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, are not required by law. But every driver would benefit in making sure they have as much coverage as possible.
When Colorado car insurance laws are not followed and drivers fail to carry insurance, there are penalties that can be enforced. Consult with a Denver auto accident lawyer about the penalties you may face if you are not carrying the proper insurance, and how that may affect your claim.
Some of the penalties include suspension of driver license or vehicle registration, receiving a ticket and payment of fines. Of course, drivers who are at fault in an accident and don’t carry insurance also face the risk of a lawsuit being filed against them.
Consulting with a Denver Auto Accident Lawyer
If you were seriously injured and it was caused by another driver’s negligence, consult D.J. Banovitz. For information on how you can avoid making mistakes with your case or how Colorado car insurance laws may impact your claim, call us at 303-300-5060 to set up your appointment. Also be sure to order our FREE Colorado injury guide.